Skip to content ↓

About us


Our Governing board 

The Role of the Governing Board.
The purpose of the Governing Board is to provide confident and strong strategic leadership
working in close partnership with the leaders of the school, leading to robust accountability,
oversight and assurance for educational and financial performance.

This means:
• Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
• Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of the organisation and its pupils, and the effective and efficient performance management of staff
• Overseeing the financial performance of the organisation and making sure its money is well-spent

As a Governing Board we work cooperatively together to ensure we meet the 3 core strategic
functions above.

The Governing Board consists of:

 Mrs B Ellison Clerk to Governors

 Reverend Joanna Fielding  Ex-officio / Foundation Governor

 Mrs S Laughlin Ex-officio and Head of School

 Miss S Smith  Chair of governors / Parent Governor

 Mrs J Foster Vice chair / Local authority Governor

 Mr E Grainger  Co-opted Governor

 Ms Z Hicks - Staff Governor

 Mr J Marshall - Parent governor

 Miss G Roberts  Foundation Governor

 Ms S. Cudworth  Parent Governor 

 Mrs J Styler  Associate member (Finance)

Mrs J Nicol Associate member (FGB)


This year 2023-2024, the school is working on the following priorities which guides our work fulfilling our core strategic functions and meeting our statutory requirements.

Priority 1
Curriculum / Teaching and Learning

1a -To refine the curriculum to clearly identify what key knowledge children should know and remember in all subjects
1b - To ensure the consistent delivery of the planned curriculum in each class in every subject area
1c -To ensure knowledge organisers and Learning zones reflect this key knowledge and the key questions
Id-To ensure all activities taught engage learners and support learning

Priority 2
Curriculum / Teaching and Learning

2a - To ensure progress is tracked through quality assessment and monitoring of learning
2b - To ensure that assessment, monitoring and evaluation – across all foundation subjects- is used effectively to target all pupils – leading to improved outcomes for all.
2c - To refine data tracking / progression in subjects across school

Priority 3
Christian Distinctiveness / new SIAMS framework

3a - To define what spirituality looks like at CPPS
3b - To revisit school vision and values to ensure it is ‘theologically grounded’ and understood by all
3c - To ensure high-quality RE teaching across school
3d - To develop collective worship to reflect new SIAMS framework judgements
3e - To ensure curriculum documents reflect Christian vision

In order to carry out our functions effectively we meet 6 times per year as a full governing board. We also have delegated responsibilities which enables us to undertake our strategic functions on behalf of the board. It is a privilege to be a governor at Cleeve Prior CE Primary school where every child is valued and nurtured to grow and flourish.

Through our strategic oversight of the work of the school we support and strengthen the school to provide high quality education for all pupils.





Contact Us

Head of School: Mrs. S Laughlin

Main Street, Cleeve Prior, Evesham
WR11 8LG